Life with Twins

2 (3) in Progress

NOW:

I’ve been playing;

  • Chase – run run run run run run run – all around the circle of our house.  I don’t know why the dogs bark as we do this, but it adds to the mayhem fun.
  • Tickle Monster – usually after the running….someone climbs into the chair and says “get me!” and the tickle monster does.
  • Hide ‘n Seek – “Mommy, we gonna hide under the table, come and find us!”

- “oh where could those kids be?  In the kitchen?  In the tent?  In the dining room?  Under the table!!!!  What a surprise!”

We also made Jell-O.  Later they told Daddy they added hot water and cold water and stirred it up and made it cold in the fridge.  They had some for dessert, topped with fruit!

I’ve also been cleaning;

Upstairs I dusted and vacuumed every where.  I also cleaned up my bedroom by putting some things down in the basement and stuffing some clothes in Tim’s closet.

In the basement I took all of the pieces of drywall out, broke it up, threw out what would fit in the garbage cans and moved the rest to the garage.  Why have pieces of drywall been laying in my basement for 7 years?  I don’t know.  I just don’t know.

Once the drywall was gone I was able to use that space for garage sale stuff – mostly baby related.  The cleared up a LARGE spot in the middle of the floor.  Then I also organized all the baby clothes.  I had packed them away by size, but not boy/girl, so I just rearranged and reorganized.  Then I started getting rid of some boxes of products we had been saving in case we had to take anything back like from the cookware we bought two years ago and the charcoal grill.

I swept too.  And didn’t see any mice in the two days I was down there.  Hooray!

The kids helped me sweep and mop the kitchen/hallway/bathroom also.  I should have taken pictures.   I’m terrible.  It was cute, take my word for it.  They helped me moved everything out.  They used their little broom and dustpan as well as helping with my big dustpan.  Then they used their little mop but also helped go back and forth with mine too.  Then they helped me put everything back in.  It was fun!  And a good learning experience for the day they can do it by themselves!

I started organizing some toys too.  As in, I took some toys from baby-hood that they don’t really play with anymore and put them in the basement.  Garage Sale Pile.  Shhhh….don’t tell them!

Digging for Gold

Mopping the Kitchen Floor

And now I’m blogging, so that’s a start for goal #3!  This is now.

THEN:  One day a nurse asked me if I wanted to change Will’s diaper for the first time.  A million thoughts went through my head in a split second.

If they were at home I would have changed plenty of diapers by now…..

I’ve never changed a diaper before in my life…….

I have to learn some time……..

There are so many wires and needles attached to him…….

What if I hurt him……..

I said no, but that I would watch and do it next time one of them needed a diaper change.  Having such little experience and having such a small baby with all of those needles and wires was just too much.  I didn’t feel guilty, I just watched and listened as she explained how to get around the wires as easily as possible.  It was important to do it fast so that he didn’t get cold.  Or pee on himself.  She was very reassuring.  That’s what I remember most from my experience in the NICU.  Everyone was so calm.  That made me calm.  And everyone was so efficient.  Like they weren’t fooling around…..even though these babies seemed so small and fragile they got the job done.

Usually when Tim and I would go up we would bring snacks and water and books to read.  We’d walk in and find comfy chairs and drag them over to our babies.  We’d say hi and talk to them and softly touch them through the holes in the incubator.  We’d either look at their charts or wait until a nurse came over to update us – which they always did as soon as they could.  We were mostly concerned about them gaining weight.  The nurses would also tell us if anything important or interesting that had happened overnight or when the doctor did his rounds.  Then we would just sit and read.  Spend time with each other and time with them.  If they needed to be fed, we’d hold them while they “ate” through their feeding tube.  After that first time we would change their diapers if they needed to be changed.  When I needed to pump I would leave and go to a different room to pump.  They had provided me with a whole second set of equipment so that I didn’t have to bring my own shields and tubes and bottles every time – I just left a set there and used the pump in the room.

See the feeding tubes taped to our shoulders?

It was like that for a while.  Just waiting for a change indicating that they were closer to going home.  In the meantime, we relaxed.  As much as we could considering the circumstances.  That was then.

Ariel-feeding tube in her nose now....

Will -no CPAP, with nose feeding tube

Comments on: "2 (3) in Progress" (2)

  1. Are you expecting? It looked that way from the title! :)

    I’ve nominated you for several awards–I sent it out earlier today, and saw that I forgot to put you on my list, so check it out!! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

