Life with Twins

NOW:

Hello? Hello?

 They love the phone.  Probably all kids do, I don’t know.  I’m so enthralled by my own kids, but some people probably are all like, “been there, done that, all kids are the same”.  Oh well.

We teased Will yesterday.  He had Daddy’s cell phone (he stole it), and I kept calling it.

He was very confused.  But then every time it would stop ringing he would ask for more.  I love playing pranks on my unsuspecting children.  They are just so naive!  It’s TOO easy! 

We had gone outside Friday night.  I made the mistake one day of showing the kids how to look for bugs.  They kept seeing ants on the deck, but then they’d go down the cracks.  So I, being the smart mom that I am (ha), decided to show them how we could pick up rocks and look for bugs. 

We don’t really find many, which surprises me.  But I just tell the kids they must be sleeping.  This does not discourage them much; they just keep picking up the same rock and checking.  They are so easily entertained.  🙂

Once, I picked up a bug, well, a worm, to show them more closely.  They looked at it, but then Will said, “home, bug, home” and pointed to the ground.  So I put him back.  Now, all weekend they kept pointing outside and asking for bugs.  It was a little too chilly and rainy though. 

We went out to dinner with Mema and Papa.  The twins are actually pretty well behaved at restaurants (knock on wood) but that’s probably because we do our best to keep them entertained while they’re sitting.  Ariel was contented knowing there were french fries coming.  Will was contented eating ALL of the ONIONS out of Daddy’s French Onion Soup.  Now, I know Vidalias are sweet onions, but still, come on, what kid eats all these onions?

They were piled on this plate when he first started eating, no lie.  Anyway, we had a pretty good dinner.  It wasn’t our “cheat” day, so we tried to be good.  I had a Steak and Blue salad, and Tim had a BBQ chicken sandwich.  We split the fries that came with his. 

A couple with a kid a little older than Will and Ariel were sitting near us.  They pulled out their portable DVD player almost as soon as they sat down and put cartoons on for the kid!  I was shocked!  We overheard their explanation to the waitress – he just won’t leave home without it!  Really?  The kid is going to drive back home and get the DVD player if you don’t bring it?  Puh-leeze!  It’s not like it was a quiet-type restaurant where you really had to keep your kid super quiet.  Can’t you just spend some time talking to him/interacting with him/bringing toys and playing with him?  We played hide-and-seek with napkins for goodness sake!  I just can’t believe what lengths some parents will go to in order to avoid their children.

After the kids were in bed, Tim and I exercised on the Wii Fit again.  It was kind of cool today (only around 60 degrees), so by evening there was a nice breeze coming in through the window, which helps a lot when you’re exercising indoors.  And I lost 0.7 lbs!  YAY! 

After we showered we watched Pirates of the Caribbean.  We want to have a Disney marathon, but some of the movies we know the kids might enjoy.  Besides, we have to start training them on the characters for when we go to Disney World next year.  I would like to go in alphabetical order; that’s how they’re organized, but we knew the “new” Alice in Wonderland, and the Pirates movies would not be so interesting for the twins, so we started with those.  Plus, we hadn’t seen Alice before….good thing we watched it without them…..totally inappropriate/scary!

I made myself an iced coffee to help keep me awake. 

  Last summer, in an effort to save money and calories, I bought myself a Mr. Coffee Iced Tea Maker – only because it can be used as an Iced Coffee maker.  Now, I know that I could technically make iced coffee in my regular coffee pot, but I had tried that and it was not turning out right.  So, for 20 bucks from Target, this was a good investment. 

I used to (and sometimes still do) use Coffee Mate non-fat French Vanilla creamer for it.  But I recently discoverd this syrup – it’s sugar free Vanilla – and it has a much stronger taste.  Not as creamy, but I don’t need to use as much.  Plus, I can pretend I’m putting alcohol in.  

Here’s my special iced coffee cup – I found if I was just pouring into into a plain glass it didn’t feel as special and I was more tempted to go out and buy one rather than make it.  (Those Tim Hortons cups are laced with “something special”; I’m convinced.)

It’s the cup I got when we went to see The Little Mermaid on Broadway back in 2009.  My drink also helped curb my appetite.  I had had Doritos for a snack but was still craving something sweet.  This wasn’t the same as having a dish of ice cream, but the iced coffee + watching Johnny Depp as Jack Sparrow was enough to keep my mind off my stomach.  *sigh*  This is now.

THEN: I was thinking back the other day to the long ago, in the before time (South Park, anyone?).  In 2000, I met my future husband.  We were both 19.  I didn’t necessarily know he was “the one” on our first date, but I knew he was special.  Soon, we started “Going Out”, and not long after, we said our I Love You’s.  Then we went from saying “IF we ever get married” to “WHEN we get married” and “IF we ever have kids” to “WHEN we have kids”.  It was funny too because my last serious boyfriend and I discussed having a family and I was totally against it.  Now, I was only 17/18 years old, but I think too, I knew he wouldn’t have been a good daddy.  Once I realized that Tim would be, all my feelings towards children changed. 

But even when we did get married in 2004, we still had the fear of getting pregnant.  I would hold my breath hoping I got my period that month.  We discussed when we would start trying but we wanted to me just married a couple of years first.  I wanted to get tenured at school first.  We wanted to just be selfish and on our own.  We had both come from living at home and I especially, hadn’t really experienced the freedom of being out on my own.  So we waited, which was fine, we probably weren’t ready.  I mean, if something had happened, and we ended up pregnant too early it would have been ok, we were married, we wanted kids, we would have been fine.

Then we had a scare.  It was December 2006.  My period was very, very late.  I didn’t even want to tell him.  Was I happy?  Upset?  How would he feel?  I finally told him and we talked.  We decided to wait until I was a week and a half late and take a pregnancy test.  It came back negative.  I got my period the next day.  But this scare made us realize – we were disappointed by that negative.  We were ready.  We would have been happier being pregnant than not.  I was getting tenured in May.  We were ready.  We were going to start trying to have a baby.  It was so great that we were both on the same page at the same time.  I still wasn’t going to go off the pill until I talked to my doctor, but I had an appointment in April, so that was fine.  We could wait a little longer.  But we were ready.  That was then.

Comments on: "Hello? Are you there? We’re Looking for Bugs!" (2)

  1. Pulling out the DVD player at the restaurant is a new one for me. Haven’t seen that yet. Wow.

    I use a cold press system for my iced coffee. I’ll have to blog about it some day.

Leave a Reply

