Life with Twins

NOW: Ok, I am now definitely addicted to running.  Ran another 5K on Saturday morning.  2 hours before I was supposed to be leaving for a wedding.  It was a casual wedding….it’s not like I had to spend a ton of time doing hair and make up.  I’m not one to care what people think about me anyway.

So, my second 5K.  It. Was. Hot.  It was nice because the route was basically around my neighborhood.  There were 2 water stations this time…..but they gave little bottles of water which were kind of annoying to open.  Beggers can’t be choosers I guess. 

I am disappointed to say I walked like 4 times.  I blame Tim though.  🙂  He and the twins were waiting for me at one of the corners near our house.  I was really wanting to walk at that point but I knew he’d see me, so I kept pushing myself.  Well then, he’s flagging me over.  What?  What do you want?  How do you wash the stuffed animals?  In the (F***ing) washing machine!!!!  I understood why he did it.  The stuffed animals absolutely NEED to be washed and dried before naptime or Will freaks out.  Well, we weren’t going to be home!  So, they needed to be washed and dried before we left.  But still, come on, stopping to ask me that?  I’m gonna put instructions for everything taped to the washer and dryer from now on.  He didn’t want to be the one to destroy Mr. Bear by putting him on the wrong setting in the washer.  I explained later that it’s really only the dryer that matters – no heat, just air dry. 

I didn’t even get to say hi to the twins as I ran by.  Tim said he’s never coming to watch me again anyway because as soon as I kept going and didn’t stop, the twins were screaming MA MA MA MA MA MA MA MOMMY MOMMY!  So, at least until they’re old enough.

Then, because I had already slowed down once to talk to him, I figured it couldn’t hurt to walk a little bit.  To the red truck.  Only a few driveways.  So I did.  Then there was a downhill, so no more walking.  Then uphill…..OK a little more walking.  Downhill – no.  Uphill – a little.  Downhill – no.  Then there was a BIG uphill.  I thought about letting myself walk it but then I would be going twice as slow.  Obviously.  So I sprinted up the hill.   Then walked a little more.  The finish line was in sight but not the timer yet.  I was pretty bummed already and figured I wasn’t going to beat my time.  I think that’s one reason I allowed myself to walk so much.  When I saw the clock, it was at 33 minutes.  Wow!  I wasn’t that far off.  I sprinted a little more to try and beat my time anyway, but got there at 33 minutes, 30 seconds.  About 7 seconds slower than last time.  And I had walked a LOT more!  That must mean when I did run, I ran faster, right?  Right.  I was still mad at myself though.  Even if I had walked 1 less time, I would have beaten my previous time. 

We’re going to run another one mid-August.  We’ve been recruiting more people.  Suckers.  Tim’s one of them.  He vows that he’s going to try the next one.  It’s at the Erie County Fairgrounds, during the fair, so that’s AWESOME!!!!    Our friend, Kate, came to this one and says she definitely wants to run more too.  She and I are going to go running tonight.  She’s a little slower than me, but she has never really run before.  I figure even if I keep at her pace I’ll run the whole time without stopping to walk, so that would be a great way to build up my stamina. 

I love that a bunch of us are doing this together.  I had been running by myself anyway, just needed a catalyst to get me to sign up for “actual” runs.  And now that so many of our friends are joining in, it’s a lot of fun.  I’m not a competitive person usually, but this is something I am becoming competitive about.  Plus, Kate says she’ll run the Disney Marathon with me in 5 years, so it’s something else to plan/train for.  If we start planning now, we’re more likely to actually do it.  🙂 

And it’s something I’m doing for me.  Don’t get me wrong, I love living for my kids (and Tim).  I would do anything for any of them.  I feel like I was born to be their mother and I feel like I’m doing a Damn good job of it.  As I was running my first 5K, I said to myself “do it for them”.  But then, I realized…..No, I’m not doing it for them…..I’m doing it for me.  And if this is the way I can be selfish and do something that’s just for me, than at least it’s a healthy outlet.  I’m getting in shape.  I feel good.  And it’s a stress reliever.  And I’m doing it just for me.  Just to run.  Just because I like it.  It takes up time – it means sometimes Tim has to stay home a little more with the kids, or if he runs with me it will mean getting a babysitter for a couple hours.  But it’s my one way to be a little selfish.  This is now.

THEN:  I had quite a bit of trouble sleeping when I was pregnant too.  Probably everyone does.  The swelling in my ankles and feet and wrists and hands didn’t help.  I would try to prop my belly up on one pillow, and my feet up on another.  It wasn’t very comfortable.  Plus, my carpel tunnel would be extremely painful at night for some reason and I couldn’t really elevate my wrists. 

I tried many different pillows for my belly.  I tried regular pillows but they were too bulky.  A body pillow worked for a short time, but it was too bulky too.  I wanted something small enough to go under my belly for support, but not push me over.  I went back to regular pillows because I hated the body pillow.  Then I tried throw pillows from the couch because they were a little thinner, but they weren’t the right shape. 

I was very picky.  But I really wanted to get a good night’s sleep.  Once they were born it would probably be a long time before I slept through the night.  Plus, I had to rest.

I started taking naps in the afternoon too.  On the couch.  I think the way the cushions were just helped a little better with my belly.  And my ankles and wrists weren’t so swollen in the middle of the day.

But at night I wanted to be in my bed.  I didn’t want to sleep alone on the couch.  So I kept trying different pillows.  Finally, in July, we were at Babies R Us and I found a triangular pillow, meant to help with my problem.  I convinced Tim to buy it – it was a worthwhile investment even though no other pillows were working and he had little faith in this one.  But it was only like $12. 

It was like a miracle-worker.  This little ramp-shaped piece of foam was just what I needed.  I felt like Goldilocks – finally finding the one that was JUST RIGHT.  What a relief.  It was such a big help and even though I was still slightly uncomfortable and not totally sleeping through the night it definitely helped with the belly situation.  Now, if only there was some way to help the getting-up-to-pee-every-hour-situation.  That was then.

Comments on: "5K Fever (No-Twin Tuesdays)" (6)

  1. Sound like this run wasn’t as magical as the last one, but it also sounds like you aren’t going to quit so good for you.

    I think staying in shape is partly for the kids too. If I am out of shape them I can’t do as many things with them. This gets truer as you get older.

    As for the kids not coming to the races anymore – that is too bad because nothing gives you a great boost of energy like people cheering you on.

    • Staying in shape is definitely for the kids – you are right. That’s one of the main reasons my husband started really working out – he began to realize all the things he might not be able to do with them as they got older.

      It was definitely a boost to have them there – until Tim had to stop me about the washing machine! I think maybe in the future they will come again – right now they are so mommy-minded because I’m off of work, and to see me just run right past them made them upset.
      Thanks for the moral boost! I’m not going to give up – Disney Marathon in 2016 is my goal!

  2. Congrats on your 5K!! That’s fantastic. You must feel great. I love that your husband stopped you to ask about washing the stuffed animals, hahahaha. Too funny!

    • Thanks! That’s why I like running – I just feel good afterwards, ya know? I could not believe he was asking me that. Like I said, I understood, because it would have been A DISASTER if Mr. Bear wasn’t washed, or worse yet, destroyed! But I just could not believe it. 🙂

  3. No way! You ran a 5K? Two? Cool! I am not a good runner, but I’d like to get into it. I haven’t talked to you in too long! I sent you an email, but maybe it didn’t go through? That’s technology! Whatever, talk to you soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

