Life with Twins

Ahhh…….Relaxing……

NOW:  Things were pretty much back to normal today.  Tim’s temperature was pretty much normal.  He went back to work.  Kids and I went outside for the whole morning. 

We swam, went on the swings, on the slide, and I even set up the Bounce House for them.  We also looked for bugs.  Crickets were the find of the day.  🙂 

And…..maybe the most back to normal event……after 3 years…….I finally have a shed again!!!!!!!

It is just glorious.  I got up early this morning and started moving stuff from the garage before the twins were even up.  Then I finished up during naptime.  Oh, it is just so nice to have the garage space back!  No more tripping over ourselves trying to get to the outside fridge, or the stroller or wagon.  It will be easier to have their toys in there for me to get out in the mornings.  Plus, my car will have a new home. 

Believe me, it’s positively empty compared to what it looked like before.  I’m not sure if my car can go in yet though.  We bought the twins a rather large gift for their upcoming birthday and it’s being stored in the garage right now.  And after it’s put together it will probably go back in the garage until their birthday.  So, with the stroller and wagon being to the side like that, I think the doors on the car might hit them.  They will eventually go back next to the fridge after the gift is out of the way, but until then my car might have to keep sleeping in the driveway.  That’s ok, only a few more weeks.  🙂  While on the topic of their birthday……I have already been prepping them to say they’re 2, when asked how old they are, and hold up 2 fingers.  Ariel holds up both index fingers.  That’s ok, that does equal 2 fingers.  This is now

THEN:  Ok, so Tim tells me to call the doctor about my heartburn.  I was surprised enough to actually listen.  Here’s my issue.  It’s not that I don’t like going to the doctor, really.  It just seems that any time I call with a complaint, one of two things happen:

1. – There is absolutely nothing wrong with me (OK doc, then why do I feel like S**T!!!???)

2. – It’s a virus and there’s nothing they can do.  (I get the logic behind this, but it still aggrevates me)

Figuring that the heartburn is obviously not a virus.  And figuring that if there’s absolutely nothing wrong with me, then that’s a good thing, I figure I’ll call the doctor.  Well, of course, my OB is not in the office today.  In fact, he’s gone on vacation for the weekend.  Ok, he’s entitled to a life too, I suppose.  It just figures.  The answering service connects me with a different practice, they work together with my doctor to help each other out on the weekends.  They tell me I should go to the hospital. 

Um….What?  I don’t know about that.  Is that really necessary?  Well……I could be in pre-term labor and it’s best to get checked out.  And…..by the way……we’re working out of Women’s and Children’s Hospital this weekend, not Mercy. 

That just threw me for a loop.  Tim and I don’t even know where Children’s Hospital is.  I was familiar with Mercy.  I knew where it was.  I had been going to see the high-risk doctor for my sonograms there.  They had all brand-new rooms on the maternity floor.  Did I really have to go to some other hospital.  Yes…..and……they are really really busy today so you might want to bring a book to read or something.  You’ll probably have to wait a while.

Now I’m aggrevated.  But I can’t be aggrevated with the person on the phone, so I decide to be aggrevated with Tim.  Why?  Because he’s the one who told me to call the doctor in the first place.  He’s very apologetic.  He doesn’t really want to give up his whole Friday either, and I’m not really mad at him, just annoyed in general.

We look up on Mapquest how to get to the hospital.  We bring books.  I even tell him to bring my Labor Bag just in case.  Who knows, right?  We get there and go straight to the labor/delivery area of the hospital.  I tell the secretary what they said to me on the phone.  We wait in the waiting room for about45 minutes, then get called back.  I have to give a urine sample.  Good thing I made Tim get me a milkshake for breakfast on the way.  I am told to put on a hospital gown also.  And then lay on this table where my legs hang off and I can’t move sideways or I will fall.  They test my vitals and then we wait and wait and wait.  My blood pressure was a little high.  And they are concerned about my swelling.  I tell them it’s always like that…..just wait until nighttime, it only gets worse.  The nurse leaves again.  This table is the most uncomfortable thing EVER.  She comes back to draw blood.  She leaves again.  I ask if I can get up.  No.  They want me to rest to see if my blood pressure will come down.  It is so uncomfortable I feel that it’s probably making my blood pressure go higher.  I can’t even stand it.  It’s awful.  Complaining does not help.  A doctor comes in to do an internal exam.  I’ve not had one yet, and it’s VERY uncomfortable.  Combined with the uncomfortableness of the table.  Nothing seems to be out-of-sorts or concerned though.  Except that I feel like I will die if I cannot get off of this table soon. 

When the nurse comes back in, they say they are admitting me.  Um, not what I expected.  I would just like to go home.  The heartburn is gone I tell her.  They found some concern with my urine sample, combined with my blood pressure, and the swelling.  They’d like to keep an eye on me.  I ask for how long.  Overnight.  Oh no no no no no.  I start crying.  Tim soothes me and the nurse gets a wheelchair to take me to my room.  I am still crying but at least I am off that awful terrible horrible table.  But now Tim and I are really aggrevated that I called.  But not really.  That was then.

Leave a Reply

