Life with Twins

NOW:  On Sunday, I went to my friend, Melanie’s, bridal shower.  She is one of my best friends; we’ve been friends since elementary school!  So I am her Matron of Honor.  Does anyone have a better term for that?  I don’t know – matron just sounds…..old.  I don’t want to be the Maid of Honor obviously, but there’s gotta be something better than MATRON.  Let me know.

Anyway, I got there pretty early to help her and her mom set up and get organized.  We had a fabulous lunch and then it was time for the presents!  I helped by writing down the gifts everyone gave.

That’s her, behind the big purple bag.  🙂  She was moving so quickly, she was like a blur in most of the pictures.  She’s like a little pixie or something.

See?  Blurry.  You get the idea.  I am so glad to be a part of her (finally) wedding!  She has been with Brad for almost 12 years – longer than I’ve been with Tim!  (And I’ve been married for 7 of those).  So it’s so  nice that it’s finally her turn, the day when everything is all about her!  Love ya Mel!

After the shower I rushed home to get changed – we were going to Steve and Mariah’s house for dinner.  Tim had fed the twins lunch a little early, so they’d nap earlier, so we could get there a little earlier so that the kids could all play.  We knew Steve had set up the kiddie pool, but it was pouring rain outside.  I brought their swimsuits just in case.

Good thing!  The rain cleared up and we all went outside.  It wasn’t exactly sunny, but it was warm and the kids (Ariel, Will, and Eliza) all enjoyed playing in the pool, on the slide, and just running around their massive yard.  It is amazing how much Eliza has grown in the short time that we haven’t seen her.  She talks!  She’s much more steady walking.  She’s still afraid of the grass though.  🙂  They were getting a little restless just before dinner so I decided to take them for a “walk” around the yard to pick flowers.  They picked some of Aunt Mariah’s lillies.  Oh well.  Just then, I felt drops.  Lots of them.  I thought maybe it was just the water being knocked off the trees.  But no.  We hurried and got the kids inside, as well as all of the food, plates, highchairs, everything.

Mariah, with a bum-foot, tried to keep all 3 kids in the living room while I started cutting up their food for dinner.  It was actually quite amusing because she’d no sooner gete all three of them to stay, and one, or more, would wander away again.  It was like a comedy routine.  Tim was bringing in all the stuff from outside, and Steve was finishing up cooking.  He was soaked by the time he got in with the last of the chicken.  We ended up just eating inside, but it was fun anyway.  It’s always nice to just go and relax with them.  The food was delicious and it was just great to get together and hang out.  I love that we have such wonderful friends.  We are just so lucky.  This is now.

THEN: I was admitted into the hospital.  I figured now I had to probably call my parents and tell them what was going on.  I was not looking forward to that.  I didn’t want them to worry, but I knew they would.  I wasn’t worried really, more annoyed.  They had found high levels of protein in my urine, and that, combined with the high blood pressure, was making them concerned about pre-eclampsia.  Which I’m sure I had heard of, but never really looked into.  Throughout my pregnancy, I tried to read a lot about it.  But I glossed over most of the bad stuff because I didn’t want to make myself paranoid.  Plus, being an optimist, I felt sure it wasn’t going to happen to me anyway.  I knew some signs to watch out for, but anything I had mentioned to my doctor had gotten a “you’re fine” response.  I didn’t worry much.

I called my family and they were worried and said they’d come down soon to see me.  In the meantime, Tim and I settled in, tried to find something on TV and discussed our plans for the evening.  He was supposed to go to a Fantasy Football draft.  I told him to just go.  Don’t worry, and don’t worry about coming back tonight.  Sleep at home, take care of the dogs, come back in the morning.  So that’s what he was going to do.  Before coming down, my mom asked what was going on and how long I would have to stay and if Tim was going to stay.  When she found out that he couldn’t stay the night (we didn’t tell her exactly why because we knew she’d think it was silly), she offered to stay. 

In the meantime, the nurses had put a urine catcher on the toilet in my bathroom.  This was because they needed to keep testing the proteins.  They also put an IV in my arm, and came and took my blood pressure every few hours.  Most of the nurses were really great.  Some were better than others.  One of them decided late Friday night that the needle in my arm was wrong.  I told her it was fine.  I didn’t want to be poked again.  She insisted.  It was so annoying.  She had to un-tape the whole thing, which hurt like hell, took the needle out, then had to wiggle around to find another vein, and then re-taped it.  I was so angry.  Was that absolutely necessary?  I didn’t really think so.

Even all through the night, they kept coming in to test my blood pressure and take my temperature.  They had also hooked up a monitor to my belly.  They were measuring my contractions.  Now, I wasn’t feeling those contractions AT ALL, which they assured me was a good thing.  They weren’t very strong.  But they wanted to monitor them anyway to make sure I didn’t end up going into pre-term labor.

Shortly after being in the room, they also did a sonogram, mostly to figure out the weights of the babies. 

I didn’t sleep much.  I was uncomfortable.  I was hot.  My mom was in the room.  Nurses kept coming in and out.  The monitors were beeping. 

I like things to be told to me straight.  So I asked; what was going to happen in 24 hours if mhy protein levels and blood pressure hadn’t gone down? 

Three possible scenarios:

1. – levels weren’t as high as initially tested and I’d be sent home on bedrest.

2. – levels were still high and I’d stay in the hospital for a couple of weeks on bedrest.

3. – levels were still high and I’d have to deliver.

The nurses had the opinion that it would probably be option 2.  I was only 31 weeks, so delivering now might not be the best action.  But going home was probably not an option. 

I just kept making myself try to stay super-calm whenever they took my blood pressure.  I figured; mind over matter, right?  That was then.

Leave a Reply

