Life with Twins

Being Thankful

NOW:  I’m sitting here trying to think of what I’m thankful for.  In a creative way.  I’m thankful for so much, but it’s all kind of cliche and boring.  Family, friends, health, job.  That about sums it up.  But, expressing what you’re thankful for seems the thing to do these days, so here goes nothing……

I am thankful first and foremost for my husband, Tim.  He is my everything.  Sometimes I get so caught up in living life I forget to think about how I got here in the first place, but it’s mostly to do with him.  I am thankful for his sense of humor, his love, his daddy-skills, his cooking skills (Thankful mostly because then I don’t have to cook!), and for making me want to be a better person…..but still putting up with the parts I’ll never change.  He is my best friend and my soulmate. 

I am thankful for my twins.  It’s hard to believe there was a time in my life when I thought I didn’t want kids.  Now, sometimes I believe I was put on this earth to be their mommy.  It’s a full-time job….and it’s definitely WORK, but it’s also the best job in the world.  Even if I forget that sometimes….like when Will’s walls, crib bars, sheets, and stuffed animals are all painted with poop when I go to get him in the morning.  But when I think back….especially when I’m doing a “THEN” post…..well, it just helps me remember how much I need them.

My friends….they are just always there for me, or just there to be with me, or just there to talk to me.  I am so lucky to have each and every one of them.  Even when they are so drunk they spill gluten-free beer all over my husband’s white Sabres jersey.  Oh yeah, I’m also thankful for Stain Stick.

I think in this economy, most people are thankful for their jobs.  I am. 

My family.  And Tim’s family.  They are just so great and helpful.

But I am more thankful that I love my job.  I can’t think of anything I’d rather be doing.  I would hate to be stuck in a job just because I had to make money, and I know that’s how a lot of people’s lives are.  I am blessed to be working in a good school, with good people, a good principal, and pretty good kids. 

Can I take a minute to be thankful for ridiculous things?  I am thankful for the yummy risotto my hubby made for dinner last night.  I can still taste it, and that’s a good thing.  I am thankful for my new salad spinner.  My old one broke after a good 8 year run, and I don’t think I could have lived without one.  If you don’t have one, you need one.  It’s the only thing I like to do in the kitchen!  I am thankful that International Delights already started selling their Pumpkin creamer so that I can stop spending $4.50 for pumpkin lattes.  And thankful for the coupon in the paper last week so that I could get an extra bottle.

There are lots of other little things I’m thankful for too; Disneyworld, Disney characters, and Disney movies, books, TV, baby wipes, my hair straightener, pizza, crayons, play-doh, my Fraggle Rock snuggie.  The list could go on and on. 

I guess I just am thankful for a lot.  And I know, even when I’m feeling not-so-thankful, I can use one of the many things in my life that make me happy to remind myself how lucky I truly am.  This is now.

THEN:

I am thankful to the nurses and doctors who took care of me and my children when I couldn’t.

I am thankful to my breast pump. 

I am thankful to my support group, made up of family and friends who love me.

I am thankful that I got heartburn that ended me up in the hospital, because without it, the outcome might have been a lot worse.

I am thankful that my children were relatively healthy and that, with the help of modern medicine and science, they could become stronger and healthier.

I am thankful for my husband taking extra time off of work while I was in the hospital, while the twins were in the hospital, and once the twins came home.  I don’t know what I’d do without him.

That was then.

Comments on: "Being Thankful" (4)

  1. It’s so great to have you back in the blogosphere! We missed you. 😉 I love how you’re being creative with your thanks. Beautiful post.

  2. You have won a Liebster Blog award! Stop by and check it out here:
    https://thedonovanboys.wordpress.com/liebster-blog-award/

Leave a Reply

